Thoughts on Cornerstone

I totally just paid to spend a week in a field, in 100 degree heat, covered in dust, unshowered, eating mainly a diet of ramen and peanut butter and jelly. 

And would you believe me if I told you, we fought to get ourselves there?  yes, because we’re crazy–that was established long ago–but also because this event, Cornerstone Festival, has become a family reunion of sorts. And gives the Tribe a breath of fresh air for the summer ahead.   Making an unshowered, overheated week, completely worth it.

The festival began with a themed Jesus Rally.–that would be a bunch of bands from the Jesus movement. Who were compelled at one point in their life to just share Jesus with the world, mostly being the hippies of the 60’s.

If you know anything about me, you know that I’m a sucker for the Jesus movement. I’m a sucker for times in history where we can not explain anything except that there was movement from the Lord.

Needless to say, I loved that the festival started with a reminder of what the Lord has done. 

After that there were a few shows that stuck out in my mind.  For me, what cornerstone is and why I’ll not shower for a week in 100 degree dusty heat and even pay to get in, was summed up in my quick dash from the folksy, laid back Chelsea Cafe, where I was happily hoop dancing,  to run to the much more ruckus filled Underground tent to join all the goth kids as they danced to Leper. That is Cornerstone.

Or how about the traditionally huge, and out of control Midnight Flatfoot56 show? That show found the crustiest punk rock kids join forces with the oppositely cleanest youth group kid dressed up in the wackiest superhero suits a dusty, unshowered week could find them. That is Cornerstone.

But anyone who’s gone to Cornerstone, knows it’s not about the shows. It’s about the community and people. —albeit crazy people, but people none the less.  And if I’ve been reminded of a beautiful truth, the people who find themselves at this dusty unshowered event have reminded me of it. The truth is in our freedom we have in Jesus. And the fact that when it boils down to it, our “job” is know Christ, and Him crucified. When we are loving him with all our hearts the other things fall into place.

And guess what? It’s okay, that I like to hoop dance to folk music, and then dance to an industrial goth band. 

And it’s okay that you like to wear spikes and patches in your jacket. And that kid thinks hollister  is cool. So often we fight for our differences and view others in our family of believers as “wrong” when really the fact is that they are just not us.

Granted I’m a firm believer in knowing what you believe and being solid in those thoughts. But there’s a fine line where we must learn to walk in the safety and knowledge of who we are, and allow the brother or sister next to us, dance in worship the way they see fit.–and maybe they don’t even like to dance, maybe they like to just read the bible. Or maybe they LOVE folk and don’t love metal. When you take a step back in the dusty heat you realize, that it’s okay. We are still family, and our purpose is to know Christ and Him crucified.

Thank God for dusty overheated cornfields. Thank God for places like Cornerstone Festival. 

6 responses to “Thoughts on Cornerstone

  1. really great post on cornerstone…it was nice to see you again. This was one of our best years…maybe not financially, but definitely in community terms…Tim and Neil from JPUSA said that they thought this was one of the best years for our family/group too…and as hot as it was you are right…it was an awesome week to connect with all kinds people from all different groups.

  2. Oh sweet, you’re the hoop dancer? I was watching you from the AWC tent. 🙂

  3. I am really working on the hoop thing. I need more time, and more tubing. 🙂
    My smallest girl asked about you and your littles, when she was hooping in the middle of toys r us last week! So, just know you are spreading your message loud and clear one family at a time: hoop for Jesus, don’t judge me and smile! ~ That was your message right?? ❤

  4. I love looking back at these photos and your writing remind me of just how much I love Cornerstone. I am so thankful that God has allowed me to be at this festival every years since my first in since 2007. I have met so many people and have had some the best times of my life there. I have never felt more love for Jesus, friendship, and community than at Cornerstone.

    *Thanks for posting a picture of Brandon and I!

  5. Dianca Achury Music (@DiancaMusicart)

    Hello, I really liked what I wrote here, I am music and I love the circus, but above all this love jesus and what he did for me, therefore I would like to find people who participate in such festivals as would form a community of jesus movement to preach around the world, if you have ideas and pages to start my project, I would appreciate.

Leave a Reply

